Our Sun makes 12 cyclic transits in a year from one zodiac sign to another, in the order-sequence of the signs. The Sun spends about a month in each of the 12 signs through the year. Each transit has a different meaning, significance, astrological impact for each of the signs for the transit period. The Sun will make a transit from Libra to Scorpio on the 16th of November 2018. The Sun will stay in Scorpio from the 16th November 2018 to the 16th of December 2018.

The star Sun is called one of the nine ‘planets’ in the Indian Astrology for use, reference or ease. The nine planets are called the NavGrah’. Nav means nine and Grah means planet. The Sun is regarded as the leader or King of the planets. 

In Astrology, the Sun represents the self. The Sun is the source of energy and the main support of life on Earth. The Sun is friendly with the Earth’s moon, Mars and Jupiter. The Sun is neutral with Mercury and opponents with the Saturn and Venus. The astrology color of Sun is orange. The gemstone Ruby, Manikya is for the Sun. The Sun’s ruling sign is Leo and the House 5th. The numbers associated with the Sun are like 1, 10, 19, 28 etc, adding to 1. One Mukhi - faced Rudrakasha is for the Sun. Rudrakasha stands for Lord Shiva’s eye tear.

A positive and well placed Sun in a birth chart can mean good relations between father-son, increase in self-confidence, better decision making ability, increase in honor-respect and prestige, selection in Government or authority jobs-positions, enhances position-promotions etc. 

An unfavorably positioned Sun in a chart can mean that there may be an increased headache, increase in anger, gastric problems, the father may suffer from ailment-diseases, a person may have mental anxiety, a native may be distanced from parents and friends etc.

The deities associated with the Sun are Lord Surya, Lord Shiva, Goddess Parvati, Lord Helios (Greek). The Konark Sun Temple in India is world famous and a UNESCO Heritage Site. 

Sundays are dedicated to the Sun. Sunday is called RaviVaar in Hindi, Solis in Latin, Sonntag in German, Domingo in Spanish, Voskresen’ye in Russian, al’ahad in Arabic, Nichiyobi in Japanese, Xingqiri in Chinese etc.

Mantra for the Sun is—

Om Mitraya Namah, Om Ravaye Namah,

Om Suryaya Namah, Om Bhanave Namah,

Om Khagaya Namah, Om Punshne Namah,

Om HiranyaGarbhaya Namah, Om Marichaye Namah,

Om Adityaya Namah, Om Savitre Namah,

Om Arkaya Namah, Om Bhaskaraya Namah.

Follow Us

Gurudev GD Vashist


Gurudev GD Vashist is also the author of Lal Kitab Amrit Vashist Jyotish. He is prominent in the India electronic media, like, leading TV channels like India News, Divya TV, Sadhna TV, Disha TV.
Read More