Chaitra Navratri, Worshiping Goddess, 6-14 April 2019

Chaitra Navratri, Worshiping Goddess, 6-14 April 2019

Navratri is one of the most sacred, holy and auspicious periods in Hinduism every year. Navratri is observed four times a year, i.e., there are a total of 4 Navratri in a year. But 2 Navratri are main, which are Chaitra and Ashwani, in Spring and winters, respectively. Navratri is a 9-day festivity. In the word Navratri, ‘Nav’ means 9, and ‘Ratri’ means night, therefore, Navratri means the 9 nights.

Chaitra Navratri is also called Vasant Navratri and Rama Navratri. Chaitra Navratri is the 1st Navratri of the year. In 2019, Chaitra Navratri is starting on the 6th of April. The dates of Navratri can vary every year in the Gregorian calendar. The 1st day or the start of Chaitra Navratri is on the 1st day of the Hindu calendar month of Chaitra. This always corresponds to the Gregorian March-April period. In Vasant Navratri, Vasant means the season Spring. Chaitra Navratri is also called Rama Navratri is usually regarded as Hindu deity Lord Rama’s birthday which also falls in the time of Chaitra Navratri, on the last or the 9th final Chaitra Navratri day.

The main purpose of any Navratri is to worship and appease Goddess Durga and her 9 forms. The devotees seek her blessings. Below is the 9-day schedule of the Chaitra Navratri observance:

Day 1: 6th of April 2019, Saturday—             Maa Shailputri Puja, Maa Brahmacharini Puja, the day also marks Chandra Darshan, Gudi Padwa

Day 2:  7th of April 2019, Sunday--                Maa Chandraghunta Puja, the day also marks Sindhara Dooj, Cheti Chad

Day 3: 8th of April 2019, Monday—               Maa Kushmanda Puja, Gauri Puja

Day 4:  9th of April 2019, Tuesday--              Maa Sakandmata Puja, Maa Skanda Mata Puja, the day also marks Vinayaka Chaturthi, Lakshmi Puja

Day 5:  10th of April 2019, Wednesday--       Maa Saraswati Puja, Naaj Puja, the day also marks Rohini Vrat

Day 6:  11th of April 2019, Thursday--           Maa Katyayani Puja, the day also marks Yamuna Chatt

Day 7:  12th of April 2019, Friday--                Maa Kaalaratri Puja, the day also marks Maha Saptami

Day 8: 13th of April 2019, Saturday--            Maa MahaGauri Puja, the day also marks Masik Durgashtami

Day 9:  14th of April 2019, Sunday--              Maa Siddhi Datri Puja, the day also marks Ram Navami, Baisakhi

Many devotees observe Vrat, fasting in the Navratri. The Goddesses are worshiped, as mentioned in the above dates’ schedule. Many stay awake at night to appease the deities, which is called Jagran. The 9 days-nights are in dedication to the 9 forms of Maa Durga. Consumption of alcohol and non-vegetarian is strictly prohibited in the Navratri period. The devotees seek for overall wellness and happiness in life.

A Mantra for Goddess Durga is—

                        Om Jata Joot Samaayuktamardhenndu Krt Lakshanaam,

                        Lochanatray Sanyuktaan Padmendusadyashaananaam.

                        ॐ जटा जूट समायुक्तमर्धेंन्दु कृत लक्षणाम |

                         लोचनत्रय संयुक्तां पद्मेन्दुसद्यशाननाम || 

Also Read - Happy Chaitra Sukhladi, Ugadi, Gudi Padwa, 6 April 2019

(Updated Date & Time :- 2019-04-04 15:18:27 )

Gd Vashisht Enquiry


speak to our expert !

Positive results come with right communication and with decades of experience. Try for yourself about our experts by calling one of them
to feel the delight about understanding your problems, and in getting the best solution and remedies.