Navratri - A nine day festival dedicated to Mother Goddess Durga

Navratri - A nine day festival dedicated to Mother Goddess Durga

The word Navratri literally means nine nights in Sanskrit, Nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights. During these nine nights and ten days, nine sorts of Shakti / Devi are worshiped.

The seeds of inner renewal are sown, sprouting, watched & worshiped by devotees during Navratri and on the 8th, 9th and 10th days, Goddess Durga, Mahanavami and Vijayashtami are worshipped. The tenth day that's commonly mentioned as Vijayadashami or "Dussehra", celebrates victory of Shakti over Mahishasura, of Lord Rama over Ravana, and of Durga over demons like Madhu-Kaitav, Chanda-Munda and Shumbha-Nishumbha; that's victory of excellent over evil.

The last 3 days of Navratri are called Durgashtami (8th day), Mahanavami (9th day) and Vijayadasami (10th day). On the morning of the tenth day there's a fireplace ceremony dedicated to Shiva, where the Navratri participants have an opportunity to receive Shiva's blessing.

The beginning of spring and therefore the beginning of autumn are considered to be important junctions of climatic and solar influences. That’s why these two periods are taken as sacred opportunities for the worship of the Divine Mother Durga. The dates of the festival are determined consistent with the calendar.

Navratri may be a vital and major festival within the western states of India: Gujarat, Maharashtra, and Karnataka during which the normal dance of Gujarat called "Garba" is widely performed. This festival is widely known with great zeal in North India also, including Bihar, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh and therefore the northern state of Punjab.

Durga, the Mother Goddess of the Hindus and a sort of Devi and Shakti, is believed to possess manifested in various forms, and Navdurga Maa are believed to be the foremost sacred aspects of Goddess Durga.

According to a Hindu tradition, it's believed that there are three major forms during which Goddess Durga manifested herself, namely, Mahasaraswati, Mahalakshmi and Mahakali who are the active energies (Shakti) of Brahma, Vishnu and Rudra respectively (without these goddesses the gods will lose all their powers).

These three sorts of Durga further manifested in three more forms each, and thus emerged the nine sorts of Durga, which are collectively called Navdurga or Nine Durgas:

Devi Maa Shailputri - The Navratri commences with the first night dedicated to the puja of Maa "Shailputri". "Shail" means mountains; "Parvati", the daughter of king of Mountains Himavan, is understood as "Shailputri". Her 2 hands, display a trident and a lotus. She is mounted upon a bull.

Devi Maa Brahmacharini - One hand holds a "Kumbha" or water port and therefore the other rosary. She personifies love and loyalty. Maa Brahmacharini may be a store-house of data and wisdom. Rudraksha is her most adorned ornament.

Devi Maa Chandraghanta - Worshipped on the 3rd night this Maa Durga "Shakti" is astride a tiger, displays a golden hue to her skin, possesses ten hands and three eyes. Eight of Her hands display weapons while the remaining two are respectively within the mudras of gestures of boon giving and stopping harm. Chandra + Ghanta, meaning supreme bliss and knowledge, showering peace and serenity, like cool breeze during a moonlit night.

Devi Maa Kushmanda - The 4th night begins the worship of Maa "Kushmanda", possessed of eight arms, holding weapons and a mala or rosary. Her mount may be a tiger and she or he emanates a solar like aura. "Kumbh Bhand" means to ascertain cosmic vivacity in Pindi shape or knowledge of cosmic intricacies in humanity. The abode of Maa "Kushmanda" is in Bhimaparvat.

Devi Maa Skandamata - employing a lion as a vehicle She holds her son, "Skand" in her lap while displaying 3 eyes and 4 hands; two hands hold lotuses while the opposite 2 hands respectively display defending and granting gestures. It’s said, by the mercy of Maa "Skandmata", even the idiot becomes an ocean of data like "Kalidas".

Devi Maa Katyayani - As mother, Maa "Katyayani" stayed within the Ashram of sage Katyayan for penance, hence she named as "Katyayani". This 6th Shakti is additionally astride a lion with 3 eyes and 4 arms. One left holds a weapon and therefore the other a lotus. The opposite 2 hands respectively display defending and granting gestures. Her complexion is golden coloured.

Devi Maa Kalaratri - Black skin with bountiful hair and 4 hands, 2 clutching a cleaver and a torch, while the remaining 2 are within the mudras of "giving" and "protecting". She is mounted upon a Donkey. The destroyer of darkness and ignorance, Maa "Kalaratri" is that the seventh sort of Nav-Durga meaning scourer of darkness; enemy of darkness. Maa Kalaratri's famous shrine is in Calcutta.

Devi Maa Mahagauri - Four arms with the fairest complexion of all the Durga Shaktis. Peace and compassion radiate from Her being and she or he is usually wearing a white or green sari. She holds a drum and a trident and is usually depicted riding a bull. Maa "Mahagauri are often seen during a temple at Kankhal near pilgrim centre Haridwar.

Devi Maa Siddhidatri - Ensconced upon a lotus, most ordinarily, with 4 arms, and is that the possessor of 26 different wishes to grant her bhakts. Maa Siddhidatri's famous pilgrim centre is found in Nanda Parvat within the Himalayas.

The nine manifestations of Maa Durga that are worshiped with fervor during Navratri, are believed to lift divine spirit in us to assist us overcome obstacles and obtain liberated from unnecessary qualities to be crammed with new freedom and purity.

All these nine names of Goddesses are described in "Devi Kavacha" of the Chandipatha scripture. Also called The Devi Mahatmyam or Devi Mahatmya ("Glory of the Goddess") it's a Hindu sacred text describing the victory of the goddess Durga over the demon Mahishasura. As a part of the Markandeya Purana, it's one among the Puranas or secondary Hindu scriptures, and was composed in Sanskrit around c. 400-500 CE, with authorship attributed to the sage (Rishi) Markandeya. Devi Mahatmyam is additionally referred to as the Durga Saptashati or Chandi Patha.

The other important work that focuses on veneration of the divine feminine is Devi Bhagavata Purana ("The Old Book of the Goddess"), also referred to as Shrimad Devi Bhagvatam or the Devi Bhagavatam.


Also Read - Maha Shivratri

(Updated Date & Time :- 2021-04-13 10:56:43 )

Gd Vashisht Enquiry


speak to our expert !

Positive results come with right communication and with decades of experience. Try for yourself about our experts by calling one of them
to feel the delight about understanding your problems, and in getting the best solution and remedies.